Reverie: Falling in Love with Debussy

I did say that this would be a blog of things that I loved, right? And here, beyond fashion, is music. 🙂 

 

—–

rev·er·ie

/ˈrevərē/

A state of being pleasantly lost in one’s thoughts; a daydream: “I slipped into reverie”.
Today, Google reminded me something. It reminded me that today we celebrate the life of a wonderfully gifted man by the name of Claude Debussy.
To many of the world, Debussy is known for the one piece that Google featured on it’s search page: Claire de Lune’s beauty and magic is so timeless that generation after generation after generation has learned to love and appreciate it. As much as it has been used to up Twilight’s fame, Claire de Lune has become a classic beyond even a vampire romance movie/story.
But I’d learn to love Debussy some other way. Handed a piece of his to learn opened so many doors for me. No, it wasn’t Claire de Lune, and I was quite thankful that it wasn’t: it meant an opportunity to discover Debussy beyond what the rest of the world was aware of. I was tasked to learn Reverie for my piano lessons, and I took it as quite the challenge, since I’ve never been quite the serious piano player. My teacher, for some reason had thought Debussy’s temperament matched my playing (even if I never believed that temperament could make up for technique)Debussy was very,very different from contemporary Erik Satie. Unlike Satie’s absurdly evident simplicity, Debussy was very much a deep thinker. Many would label him an impressionist but Lord knew that he was not.

I closely looked at my piece and looked at Claire de Lune. Debussy, I had concluded, did something many could not. With his music, he would paint a picture so absolutely clear that an image fills your head. Reverie’s wispy quality tells of one drifting of to dream land- a land of perfection and of lightness, a place where little goes wrong, because everything is under your control- everything as you wish. Waking is slow, unwanted maybe, but definitely not unpleasant.
Debussy was a deep thinker. The emotions and images that he painted with his music created a very different image for French music from Germany’s massive Mahler and Strauss sound, though definitely not void of the chromaticism that both nations had to offer. His was of light evenings, of day dreaming, of Fawns during the April Spring.
Huh. Maybe that’s why my teacher thought I had the needed temperament. Those things, though not my visions, are things I like believing in, things I like visualizing. There is some sort of beauty in it’s simplicity, and Debussy did not fail to show both facets. The beauty inside and the outside are equally depicted by Debussy and thus, maximized and exploited in his beautiful music.
Yes, all that said and more, I have quite fallen in love with Claude Debussy.
Leave a Reply

